Trophy Book Awards

Since its beginning in 1970, Arizona Wildlife Trophies has been a means to recognize the unique, individual quality of big game animals in the state of Arizona.  Click here to learn how you can get your copy.

2016 Annual Competition Awards

Each year there is an annual competition. All entries received by May 1 following the calendar year the animal is taken are automatically entered in the competition. Entries received after the May 1st deadline are not eligible for the annual competition but will still be entered into the next record book. The annual competition award is awarded only to outstanding trophies in each category at the discretion of the Arizona Wildlife Trophies committee. Also any number of honorable mention awards can be awarded in each category. The annual competition award winner receives a bronze award, so titled because it is a bronze medallion of the animal taken presented in a shadow box.

The awards for the 2016 annual competition were presented at the 2017 Arizona Antelope Foundation Banquet on June 18 at the Embassy Suites, 4400 South Rural Road, Tempe, AZ

Bronze awards were awarded to:

  • Austin Brishky - Pronghorn 93
  • Hannah Mackenzie - Typical Coues Deer 122 3/8
  • Lee M Comaduran - Non Typical Coues Deer 138 1/8
  • Joseph Chacon Jr - Non Typical Elk 412 3/8
  • Clay Goldman - Desert Sheep 178 4/8
  • Larry Thowe - Rocky Mountain Sheep 188 4/8
  • Warren Adams - Turkey 1 12/16
  • Randy B Brown - Bison 125 2/8
  • Michael Manasseri - Javelina 14 12/16
  • Bob Rimsza - Black Bear 21 5/16
  • Stanley A Crisher - Cougar 14 7/16

    Honorable Mention awards were awarded to:

  • Trenton K Brooks - Pronghorn 84 4/8
  • David Knights - Typical Coues Deer 108 5/8
  • Jack Willey - Non Typical Coues Deer 126
  • Robb Gary Evans Desert Sheep 177 5/8
  • Lyle T Button - Bison 116 6/8
  • Mark D Sipe - Javelina 14 6/16
  • Wesley Stark - Black Bear 21 2/16
  • Hector Rodriguez - Cougar 14 2015

    Special awards were awarded to:

  • Marvin Zieser - Arizona Trophy Heads & Horns
  • Richard H Humphrey - Arizona Big Game Award
  • James Robert Wendt - Arizona Big Game Award
  • Marvin Zieser - Arizona Big Game Award

  • Annual Competition

    The Annual Competition includes the following species: pronghorn, typical Coues deer, non-typical Coues deer, typical mule deer, non-typical mule deer, typical elk, non-typical elk, desert bighorn sheep, Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep, bison, javelina, black bear, cougar and wild turkey. (The jaguar was put on the protected species list in 1968, and Arizona was included in the area in which jaguars are protected under the Endangered Species Act in 1997).  To learn more click here:  Annual Competition Rules
    If you would like to enter your trophy, you will need to meet these Requirements.

    Trophy Hunters Special Awards Program

    Beginning with the 1990 edition of Arizona Wildlife Trophies, it was deemed appropriate to recognize dedicated trophy hunters.  Four unique awards were established to reward and encourage those hunters who had consciously chosen to kill less often in a genuine effort to harvest older, more mature and, hopefully, past-prime animals.  Click on the following for rules and requirements for each awards.

    Arizona Big Game Award
    Arizona Trophy Horns and Heads Award
    Arizona Trophy Antlers Award
    Arizona Trophy Hunter Award

    The Official Scoring System

    In 1950 the Boone & Crockett Club devised a system of rating trophies according to overall quality. Since that time, its official scoring system has become the internationally recognized system for ranking North American big game and is the one used in Arizona Wildlife Trophies for listing all trophies except javelina and wild turkey. No system existed for scoring javelina when the first edition of Arizona Wildlife Trophies was being developed. Several alternatives were considered, and the Committee finally decided to use a skull measurement similar to that used by Boone & Crockett for bears and cats, with the exception that teeth were not to be considered part of the skull when measuring length, because javelina are prone to dental malformations which affect scores unjustly. Even though some large javelina have small heads and vice-versa, the skull measurement is still the most accurate and fair way to judge this animal.

    Click below for scoring information:
    Score Sheets
     Official Trophy Measurers 2014    
     Bow Measurers